Add-On Development and Permissions

Hi there,

I’m just developing an online spreadsheet add-on for analysts to edit results before submission. I’m trying to ensure that only authenticated users can access the page, but I’m struggling to properly inherit permissions from SENAITE but I only seem to have access to standard Zope permissions.

This is my first time developing with Plone, if you have any tips or examples it would help me immensely.

Thanks!

May I ask why you need such a view?. I mean, why SENAITE’s vanilla view for results entry (Worksheet) does not fit well?

The short answer is: the lab staff want it while we transition from their current system to SENAITE.LIMS.

The long answer is:
I’m tasked with replacing their custom made an Analytical Data Management System (ADMS) with SENAITE.LIMS. This ADMS has a standard table format that allows the analysts to copy and paste their results in bulk, and they are very accustomed to this. The add-on I’m developing will provide this functionality to the analysts, without resorting to locally stored spreadsheets. I’ve been given a limited time budget to complete the integration of the instruments, and developing custom export templates and procedures per instrument would take too long.

Here’s what I was proposing:

1. Analyst logs in, navigates to the view, and pastes the data into the spreadsheet
  2. Analyst selects their worksheet from a dropdown (restricted to those assigned to the user)
  3. Analysts are prompted to pick a LIMS registered Sample ID/Reference Sample to replace each of the Sample IDs from their instrument.
  4. Analysts are then prompted to pick a LIMS analysis service keyword to replace the Analyte headings from their instrument , while ignoring columns that contain superfluous data
  5. Once they confirm the data, the add-on produces a CSV of the results, places it into the configured auto-import folder for that instrument, then calls the auto_import method